The best way to save your information earlier than deleting Fb


Michael Humphrey Assistant Professor of Journalism and Media Communications Colorado State College. This story initially appeared on Dialog,

If the newest deluge of Fb controversies has set the app below the digital curb, you are not alone. There are many good guides on how to do that the appropriate manner. Even Fb makes it very straightforward to grasp the nuances of claiming “see once more later” (deactivate) or “by no means discuss to me once more” (delete).

However earlier than you go, you may need to take into account this: What occurs to the tales in your life?

For many individuals, a decade or extra of updates, feedback, images, messages, tags, jokes, teams and reactions stay inside that exact digital realm. And Fb needs you to keep in mind that. As one author put it: “Fb is filled with recollections. It likes to make you nostalgic, and reminds you ways lengthy you’ve got used social media. ,

As a researcher who research life tales on social media, I do know that is an correct evaluation. This technique impressed Fb to create a robust and distinctive life story device. Thousands and thousands of individuals have invested billions of collective hours into what students name a community life story, wherein folks “co-construct” their social identities via interactions with each other.

Maybe you might have by no means considered how storing the little moments of your life will ultimately coalesce into one huge narrative about you. Or how conversations with your loved ones, associates, co-workers and strangers will create significant dimensions of that story.

deactivate vs delete

What when you determine to do all this? When you deactivate Fb, it is like placing that story in suspended animation. Most of what you probably did and mentioned will both be eliminated or grayed out. When you reactivate it sometime, a lot of it is going to be restored and you will be on the go.

Then again, delete the account, and “your profile, images, posts, movies and all the pieces else you might have added will likely be completely deleted. No matter you might have added, you will be unable to retrieve it.” In response to Fb.

If all of the recollections you’ve got saved imply something to you, your final probability to maintain it earlier than you delete it’s to obtain your info. I like to recommend that you just do it sometimes, because it tells lots about how you’re tracked, the way you devour media on the app and the way you might have labored on the location through the years.

It is also a fantastic set of recordsdata that you would be able to view offline both via the folder system or utilizing an offline net browser by opening the index.html file. You can even view on-line information via Fb.

lose connection

However in a surprisingly great amount, your downloaded particulars get “de-networked”. What do I imply by that?

  • Your posts are listed by date and time, however haven’t any suggestions or feedback after them. The identical is true of the images and movies you put up.
  • The identical occurs with the feedback you make on different folks’s posts. The one you had been commenting on has no context as a result of technically that isn’t your information.
  • The polls you voted on don’t comprise the context of the ballot, solely your solutions.
  • Invites you obtain are listed by identify solely.
  • There is a part of everybody you’ve got interacted with on the app, however it’s only a record of names, dates, and instances.
  • Most issues have dates connected to them, however nobody thinks concerning the context—private and social information tales—wherein they had been posted.

There are exceptions. For one, your messages are left in context, so you possibly can see the conversations you’ve got had. One other exception is that occasions are ordered primarily based on the way you reacted to taking part. And I’ve a caveat: I am gathering this info from my very own information, so there could also be different exceptions that I can not see.

Take a Look Round Earlier than You Head Out the Door

But, what you finally obtain begins to really feel like a scaffolding of life, with a depth of recollections which might be activated solely by your personal thoughts. Which may be sufficient for you.

If the richness of your community’s narrative means something, alternatively, decelerate. Take a second to go to your account for one final time earlier than you say goodbye to Fb—saving the reactions you like, capturing the context the place you possibly can.



Supply hyperlink