GT vs RR – Match Report

Tata IPL 2022 Finals: GT vs RR – Match Report

Gujarat Titans (GT) have been topped champions of the Tata Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 after beating Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 7 wickets on the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

Hardik Pandya led the way in which with an all-rounder efficiency that led Gujarat Titans to their maiden IPL title after a 7-wicket win.

Chasing 131 to win the ultimate, GT misplaced the wicket of Wriddhiman Saha early on when Prasidh Krishna went to the opener’s protection and knocked down the stumps. Trent Boult elevated the stress by bowling an excellent maiden over with the brand new ball.

Matthew Wade hit the primary six of the innings earlier than the left-hander was caught contained in the circle as Boult bought his first wicket. Shubman Gill hit a boundary on the finish of the powerplay as GT went to 31/2 after 6 overs.

Captain Hardik Pandya joined Gill however RR held the ball tight and created stress. GT have been saved at 54/2 on the half stage and wanted 77 runs from the final ten overs.

Pandya switched gears and added a most of two fours in opposition to Ashwin and placed on a fifty for the third wicket.

Yuzvendra Chahal ended the partnership with an excellent supply, which turned shortly to dismiss the GT skipper, who was caught at first slip.

There have been GT 97/3s earlier than David Miller, who moved in subsequent, simply taking the stress off his elegant strokes and bringing the equation right down to 22 out of 24.

Miller added two extra boundaries and 13 runs within the subsequent over. Gill, who opened the innings brilliantly on the different finish, ended the sport with a most in type as GT chased down a complete of 11 balls to spare.

Earlier, RR, who had opted to bat first, remained unchanged, whereas GT made one change – Lockie Ferguson changed Alzarri Joseph within the eleven.

RR’s openers – Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal – began cautiously with the bat after making use of stress with the brand new ball after the GT tempo assault.

Jaiswal was main with two sixes earlier than the RR opener was dismissed by Sai Kishore off Yash Dayal within the fourth over. Captain Sanju Samson joined Butler on the crease as RR went 45/1 on the finish of the powerplay.

Buttler then confronted Ferguson’s quick tempo and hit two consecutive boundaries. GT skipper Hardik Pandya launched himself into the assault and dismissed the opposition skipper after Samson missed a shot and was caught by Sai Kishore.

RR was saved at 71/2 on the half stage as Butler ensured a movement of boundaries from one finish. After being economical in his first two overs, Rashid Khan was ultimately rewarded with a wicket as Devdutt Padikkal was dismissed at backward level.

Pandya claimed his second wicket to dismiss the harmful Butler, who was left behind for 39. RR have been 6 down once they misplaced the wickets of Shimron Hetmyer and Ravi Ashwin in fast succession.

Whereas Hetmyer was caught and bowled by Pandya, David Miller caught Ashwin at lengthy on off R Sai Kishore. Trent Boult was the subsequent batsman to be dismissed after Rahul Tewatia was caught and Sai Kishore took his second wicket.

Mohammed Shami dislodged the off-stump to dismiss Riyan Parag on the ultimate ball of the innings and conceded solely 7 runs and Rajasthan Royals completed with a complete of 130/9.

quick rating, Gujarat Titans 133/3 (Shubman Gill 45*, Hardik Pandya 34; Trent Boult 1-14) defeated Rajasthan Royals 130/9 (Jos Buttler 39, Yashasvi Jaiswal 22; Hardik Pandya 3-17) by 7 wickets.

Supply hyperlink